Book Review: The Scare by Robert Shaw

3.5 STARS

images (2)Ethan Harris is a sixteen your old boy who lives in the coastal town of Emerald Bay.  He harbors a lot of guilt over the death of his younger brother a year before.  One day, he meets the new girl in town, Shay Cassidy.  Like Ethan, Shay has a dark past.  The two immediately become inseparable, and Shay becomes member of Ethan’s inner-circle, a close-knit group of friends.

The town bully, Viktor Sols, has his eye on Shay Cassidy too, and will stop at nothing to have her.  Viktor is shrouded in mystery, living in creepy old house that overlooks the ocean.  It is rumored that he has a wheelchair bound-brother.

Soon, people start dying, including some in Ethan’s inner circle, victims of horrific murders.  Ethan, Shay, and their remaining friends soon find themselves locked in battle with a strong supernatural force that is determined to see them all dead, all but Shay that is.

The story was told from multiple viewpoints, and had the distinct feel of a classic horror story, complete with a creepy old house on the edge of a cliff, and plenty of horror and killing.  The author was also very effective at blending haunting nightmare sequences with reality, making the reader question the very fabric of what is what is real and what is not.

The tension slowly built over the course of the book, and it seemed as though each chapter ended in a cliffhanger, pulling the reader further and further into the book, making it difficult to put down.

The main protagonists, Ethan, Shay, Quincy, and Eejayce were well developed by the author, and came across as the kind of friends everyone would like to have.  They were thoughtful, loyal, and brave.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book.  It took me back to my teenage years, when I would watch some of the horror classics like Halloween, Friday the 13th, and A Nightmare on Elm Street.

With all the things I liked about the book, I have a couple of complaints as well.  First, some of the dialogue in the book seemed as though it was taken right out of a bad, low budget horror film.  There were times when I was reading this bad dialogue that I could almost hear some third-rate actor reciting it.  Also, all of the following words were used in one chapter of the book: lambent effulgence, fulguration, and pyrexia.  There were all used in the appropriate context.  I know because I had to look them all up.  There are appropriate places for words like this.  A horror novel is not one of those places.

Bottom line: The book had a few shortcomings, but it was a fun read.  Also, there was some fairly graphic sexual content, so I wouldn’t recommend it for kids.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Scare by Robert Shaw

  1. lasesana says:

    Hi!
    I’ve been reading your book reviews and would like to invite you to a new Pintrest board:

    This is a place for book lovers to share their favorite books and also a great place to increase traffic to your website by pinning your own book reviews or book-related discussions. Let me know if you’re interested. email me at lasesana@gmail.com

    (you don’t have to approve this comment- this message is just FYI and not blogspam)

  2. robertashaw says:

    Hi Mark – I didn’t do this on Amazon because it’s against their policy, but another author told me it’s not bad etiquette to thank a reviewer so I thought I’d say thanks so much for your awesome review of my book The Scare (and for buying a paperback copy). I’m glad you enjoyed it for the most part. The best sort of review any writer can receive is when a reader says what they liked and did not like about the book. It’s those sort I hope to get many more of. My favorite paragraph in your review was the one about the cheesy dialogue being recited by third-rate-actors. I laughed my ass off when I read that and I totally agree with you. You should see the stuff I cut out! There are parts of that book that will always make me cringe… and I’m sure I’ll continue to write stuff that has the same effect on me and other readers. But hopefully the fun stuff will always win out. Thanks for putting your review on Goodreads and your blog too.
    Happy reading and reviewing dude!
    All the best,
    Robert Shaw

Leave a Reply

